originally planned. A recommendation for continuation has been adopted but some curtailment of the program soon after the end of 1958 is certain in countries that undertook extensive enlargement of their geophysical research on a temporary basis.

These notes have emphasized the highlights of the international program rather than a review of the Canadian program. In summary it can be said that Canadian scientists are active in all fifteen disciplines. Government agencies concerned include the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys, Department of National Defence, National Research Council, Department of Transport, and Fisheries Research Board. Several Canadian universities take a prominent part in the work. The Canadian program is decentralized to a large extent among leading groups in the various disciplines but is co-ordinated by a small committee appointed by the National Research Council with headquarters at Ottawa.

Section 2.—Astronomy

The modern era of astronomy in Canada may be said to have begun in 1905 with the completion of the Dominion Observatory, the national observatory of Canada. Prior to that an astronomical observatory established in 1851 at Fredericton, N.B., was used for a short time to determine the longitude of that centre and for general astronomical purposes; it has recently been rehabilitated as a historic monument. Other small observatories were established, one at Quebec City in 1854 and one at Kingston in 1875. Astronomical instruments were to be associated with the Magnetic Observatory built by the British Government at Toronto in 1839 but there is no record of them being set up until 1881. A small observatory established at McGill University in 1879 was used for many years for time observations.

Today the science of astrophysics is carried on mainly by three Canadian institutions: the Dominion Observatory at Ottawa, Ont., the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory at Victoria, B.C., both of which are administered by the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys, and the David Dunlap Observatory associated with the University of Toronto. Of the two Government institutions, the Dominion Observatory at Ottawa specializes mainly in the astronomy of position, in solar physics and in various branches of geophysical work, while the major effort in astrophysics is concentrated at the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory at Victoria. A new observatory for the study of radio astronomy is being erected at White Lake near Penticton, B.C., and will be jointly operated by the Dominion Observatory and the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory. The David Dunlap Observatory, founded in 1935, is equipped with very fine astrophysical instruments of a kind similar to those in use at Victoria. It performs not only the functions of a privately financed and administered research institution but is also the nucleus of the Department of Astronomy at Toronto University. In addition to the work of these three major institutions and a number of smaller observatories, investigations in the field of meteoric astronomy and radio astronomy are conducted by the National Research Council.